The Electrophysical Forum aims to provide an interactive platform for questions, comments, discussion and opinion related to the use of Electro Physical modalities in therapy. It is supported by an Internationally renowned expert panel and a broad sphere of clinicians, researchers, educators and students. Active participation is welcomed.

Ask a question and get it answered by your peers and respected experts

Answer a question and be recognised, raising your international profile

Create a link to us from your website, blog or social media platform.

Questions about Moist Hot Packs

Good afternoon,

You will find below an email I sent to Dr Watson before I was aware of this forum. I post my questions here as per his automatic reply. I searched and could not find any similar subject.

First of all, I would like to apologise for my english as it is not my first language (I am French). I am a fourth year Physiotherapy student and my final dissertation subject is called "Investigating the Optimal Duration of Hot Pack Application at the Shoulder Joint".

I read with interest your book "Electrophysical Agents" especially Chapter 6 about Superficial Heating. However, I still do not understand some of the logic behind it.

If I did understand what you said (and different other sources), Moist Hot Packs (MHP) heat transfer calculation is based on the PBHTE Pennes model from 1948 that does not take into consideration body fat content nor skin moisture. I was not able to find a more recent model except maybe Vendrik and Vos in 1957. Is there no other updated theoretical model that would fill the gap?

Talking more specifically about MHP, I have not been able to find a single study showing what happens after 30 minutes of application. However, in some studies, skin temperature is not back to baseline after 30 minutes. Do you know what is the rationale behind?